Rules checked 26 September 2026
Who accepts IELTS One Skill Retake?
Pick a university, regulator or visa body. See whether its own page says it accepts a One Skill Retake, with the exact wording and a link, so you can check before you pay for one.
Who are you sending IELTS to?
Your test (optional)
The answer
Choose who you are sending your IELTS result to. You will see what their own page says about One Skill Retake, in their words.
Close the gap in the skill that is short.
Start the free lessonEvery institution we checked
6 say they accept it, 6 say they do not, and 5 do not say. We read each page on the date shown. We left out any page we could not open, such as UCL's, rather than guess.
| Institution | One Skill Retake | In their words |
|---|---|---|
| General Medical Council (GMC) United Kingdom · Doctors: PLAB and registration with a licence to practise | Accepts One Skill Retake | Where you do not achieve our minimum score in one section of the full test, we will accept a One Skill Retake (OSR) pass in that section that achieves the required score. Source |
| Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) United Kingdom · Nurses, midwives and nursing associates joining the UK register | Does not accept One Skill Retake | We do not accept the IELTS One Skill Retake test. This is because you must be tested in all four domains at the same time to use this evidence type. Source |
| UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) United Kingdom · Visas that need a Secure English Language Test (SELT) | Accepts One Skill Retake | GOV.UK: "In certain circumstances, if you failed one component of the test, you may be allowed to sit that component again. You will need to check the test provider's terms and conditions." IELTS: "UKVI is accepting IELTS One Skill Retake for IELTS Academic and General Training tests on computer in selected locations." Source |
| Department of Home Affairs Australia · Australian visas that need an English test | Accepts One Skill Retake | IELTS Academic, including One Skill Retake (OSR); IELTS General Training, including One Skill Retake (OSR). Tests must be taken at a secure test centre. Source |
| Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) Canada · Express Entry | Does not accept One Skill Retake | You must take the IELTS General Training option. We don't accept IELTS One Skill Retake for Express Entry. Source |
| University of Manchester United Kingdom · Degree admissions | Accepts One Skill Retake | IELTS Academic and IELTS UKVI, which we accept. We accept IELTS One Skill Retake of these two tests only. Source |
| University of Leeds United Kingdom · Degree admissions | Accepts One Skill Retake | You must meet the requirements through a single IELTS test, or via a single test and One Skill Retake. Source |
| Cardiff University United Kingdom · Undergraduate and postgraduate admissions | Accepts One Skill Retake | We will accept all IELTS (Academic) tests (including the one skill retake) from any IELTS test centre but do not currently accept the online IELTS test. Source |
| King's College London United Kingdom · Undergraduate and postgraduate taught admissions | Does not accept One Skill Retake | All elements of the test results must be demonstrated in one test. We cannot take a combination of your scores across two tests. We cannot take TOEFL MyBest scores or IELTS One Skill scores. Source |
| Imperial College London United Kingdom · Undergraduate and postgraduate admissions | Does not accept One Skill Retake | IELTS single score re-takes are not accepted. Candidates must meet the IELTS requirements on a single test sitting. Source |
| University of Edinburgh United Kingdom · Undergraduate admissions | Does not accept One Skill Retake | English requirements must be met in a single test. We do not accept IELTS One Skill Retake, IELTS General, IELTS for UKVI General or IELTS Life Skills for UKVI to meet our English language requirements. Source |
| University of Warwick (undergraduate) United Kingdom · Undergraduate admissions | Does not accept One Skill Retake | Must be completed in one sitting. IELTS 'One skill Retake' not acceptable. Source |
| University of Oxford United Kingdom · Undergraduate admissions | Not stated: ask them | You must, where applicable, receive all qualifying test component scores (Reading, Writing, Listening and Speaking) from the same session; we will not consider scores from multiple sessions ('superscoring'). Source |
| University of Cambridge United Kingdom · Undergraduate admissions | Not stated: ask them | The component scores should normally be achieved in a single sitting of the test. Source |
| London School of Economics (LSE) United Kingdom · Undergraduate admissions | Not stated: ask them | CAE, CPE, IELTS, TOEFL, and Trinity test scores must be achieved from one sitting. We will not accept individual components scores from multiple tests. Source |
| University of Warwick (postgraduate) United Kingdom · Postgraduate admissions | Not stated: ask them | The page sets out IELTS bands A to D for postgraduate courses but does not mention One Skill Retake. Source |
| University of Nottingham United Kingdom · Degree admissions | Not stated: ask them | The page says IELTS requirements are listed on each course page and does not mention One Skill Retake. Source |
Questions
Do UK universities accept IELTS One Skill Retake?
Some do and some do not. Of the UK universities we checked, Manchester, Leeds and Cardiff say they accept it. King's College London, Imperial, Edinburgh and Warwick (undergraduate) say they do not. Oxford, Cambridge and LSE ask for scores from one sitting without mentioning One Skill Retake, so ask them.
Does King's College London accept IELTS One Skill Retake?
No. King's says all elements must be shown in one test and that it cannot take IELTS One Skill scores.
Does the GMC or the NMC accept IELTS One Skill Retake?
The GMC does: it accepts a One Skill Retake pass in the section you missed. The NMC does not, because it wants all four skills tested at the same time, though it lets you combine two full sittings.
Can I use One Skill Retake for a UK visa, Australia or Canada?
IELTS says UKVI accepts One Skill Retake for Academic and General Training on computer in selected locations. Australia's Department of Home Affairs lists IELTS Academic and General Training including One Skill Retake. Canada does not accept it for Express Entry.
What if the university does not mention One Skill Retake?
Then its page does not answer the question, and this tool shows it as not stated. Ask the admissions office in writing before you book a retake.
Accepted and still short? Work out the band your retake needs.
Sources
Each answer comes from the institution's own page, plus IELTS's own statement on UKVI. If a page changes, the page wins.
- IELTS: One Skill Retake · checked 26 September 2026
- GMC: Using your IELTS certificate · checked 26 September 2026
- NMC: IELTS Academic · checked 26 September 2026
- GOV.UK: Prove your English language abilities with a SELT · checked 26 September 2026
- Australian Department of Home Affairs: English language · checked 26 September 2026
- IRCC: Express Entry language testing · checked 26 September 2026
- University of Manchester: English language requirements · checked 26 September 2026
- University of Leeds: English language entry requirements · checked 26 September 2026
- Cardiff University: English language requirements · checked 26 September 2026
- King's College London: undergraduate English language requirements · checked 26 September 2026
- Imperial College London: English language requirements · checked 26 September 2026
- University of Edinburgh: undergraduate English language requirements · checked 26 September 2026
- University of Warwick: undergraduate English language requirements · checked 26 September 2026
- University of Oxford: English language and visa requirements · checked 26 September 2026
- University of Cambridge: entry requirements · checked 26 September 2026
- LSE: undergraduate English language requirements · checked 26 September 2026
- University of Warwick: postgraduate English language requirements · checked 26 September 2026
- University of Nottingham: English language requirements · checked 26 September 2026